Sewing

Meet Briar, Briar and Briar!

Guess what? I’m in love with making T-shirts! I basically wear them all the time – when I’m not in dresses – and I usually pair them with shorts for casual wear or either with skirts for work. I’m wondering, why did I wait so long before starting sewing my own?? Yep, because of the damned clear elastic drama. I’m proud to say that I’ve surpassed that stage and I can now sew all the t-shirts I want, Oh yessss!!
So, after my delightful first attempt (the Scout Tee by Grainline Studio), I bought another pattern, Briar by Megan Nielsen and more knit fabrics of course and I’ve already sewn three versions in less than a week!
Sizing wise, I cut an S slimming down to an XS at the hips and I’m very happy with the fit. It’s the second pattern I sew from Megan collections and I find the drafting and fit impeccable so I can only recommend them to everybody who wants to sew great patterns.

Don't ask me what I was doing here...
Don’t ask me what I was doing here…

 

IMG_3117

IMG_3120

IMG_3118
For the first Briar I’ve used a more stable knit, a nice dark gray Ponte de Roma and I’ve gone for the long sleeves/long body version as I wanted something similar to a sweater. I’m very happy with it and I’m sure I’ll wear it a lot.

IMG_3036

IMG_3042

IMG_3044

IMG_3050

IMG_3056

The second Briar is made out of a very light poly knit with a kind of tropical print. Of course I couldn’t stop myself from buying pink stuff! The drape of the fabric is perfect for the high-low hem, resulting in a soft and sweet look and is also great for summer! For this version I choose 3/4 sleeves and cropped body.

IMG_3072

IMG_3075

IMG_3080

IMG_3078
For the last (for now) Briar I opted again for cropped body but with short sleeves instead. The fabric is still pretty light, but slightly heavier than the tropical one, and it’s pale beige with gold glitter all over it. I think it’s the perfect weight for this pattern and I love how it turned out. What I don’t love is the crinkle effect of the fabric – I’ve tried to steam it and press it but nothing changed. That said, I can happily live with it.

I’ve sewn all of my three Briars in the same way: zig zagged first the seams and then I finish them with the overlocker. I know it would have been enough using the overlocker only, but I’m not confident doing so as my serger is pretty old and usually does funny things, so better play safe. Also I’ve used a twin needle for the hems.

I really like the Briar pattern and I’m sure I’ll sew it again and again, maybe I could even go up a size to get a more relaxed and boxy look. There are really heaps of different cute possibilities!

Also in these photos you can see two of my many Hollyburn Skirts. Both of them are a size 6 and view C with the shortest hem. The red one is cotton twill and the gold one a stretchy unknown fabric.

3 thoughts on “Meet Briar, Briar and Briar!

  1. Great t-shirts – show off that tummy while you still can (those days are gone for me!).
    How did you get over the clear elastic dilemma – the stuff drives me mad – did you learn to grapple with it or to use something else?

    1. screw the clear elastic! I’ve used satin ribbon. It worked perfectly and no more dramas! I even tried to sew the clear elastic with a teflon foot, no way so i had to find an alternative.

  2. Belle anche queste magliette, mi piace il gioco delle diverse lunghezze. Ti manca forse di cucire la seta, poi sei diventata super esperta in ogni tipo di tessuto!
    E’ cambiato lo sfondo, noto la presenza di conifere e manca la spiaggia……
    Belle anche le gonne, mentre guardavo le foto ho pensato che probabilmente avevi confezionato tu anche quelle.
    Buona giornata!
    Paola

Leave a comment